44 comments on “BOYS BUOYS (you must see)

  1. My boys used jugs also for swimming. One jug was enough and the handle made it easy. They did tie more plastic jugs together to make big floats to be rafts. There were not too many rocks in our swimming places which were streams, rivers, lakes, and sometimes an ocean beach. However there were lime-stone rims to sink-holes. My boys grew up in plains areas. To have rapids and rocks we had to travel hundreds of miles.

    I think one your boys has Styrofoam. Someone gave Dear Son IV some big packing Styrofoam blocks from which he constructed an ungainly boat. What a mess!! 10 years later and I still find bits of the stuff around.

    Was your foot/leg injured by its encounter with the rocks? Was rescue difficult or did you manage to un-wedge yourself?

    Like

    • Fascinating!. The story of the childhood is always interesting and not easy to forget. Of course for the first time we scratched our legs when encounter with the rocks in the rapids but after all we could manage it and become familiar with the rapid’s characteristic.

      Like

      • My dad was born in Pangkal Pinang in 1922. I remember he used to talk about ‘Oud Batavia’. He died in 1995, but I have many relatives both in Jakarta and in Holland.Most of them I have never met. He left Indonesia during World War 2, to join the Navy, and married my mom in England, where they lived for many years before joining my husband and I in South Africa, in the 1970’s. He never saw his mom and dad again, and I never got to meet my grandparents, which I really regret.

        Like

    • I see. There are a lot of descendants visit Indonesia from all over the world every week, especially on Java where most of the East Indies administration was largely centered here. They usually travel over Java and Bali in group too. They also visit my town, Bogor (Buitenzorg) to see the botanical garden and some other old building where their ancestors used to work or live.

      Like

Leave a Reply

