17 comments on “AMHERSTIA NOBILIS, an Orchid-like flowering tree.

  1. Spectacular!! The reds came out beautifully. I find it difficult to capture “reds” and “purples” – it seems that my camera needs full sunshine to capture those colours. Always a joy, my friend, so stop by…

    Like

    • I am so glad you enjoy them. BTW, what camera do you use? I was told that it could be influenced by the types and manufactures too, or you may try to put the subject in fully shady place and set the camera to Aperture priority. For instance, the 3rd picture from above, I use Nikon D90 with its kit lens (18-105mm) and set the camera at aperture priority with ISO 400, exposure time 1/40 sec. Any way, it is all depends on how strong the light be. Generally, it is much better when the subject is in the shade in which the colors reflects less bouncing light from the surroundings and using a lower speed works better. I am sure you can do it. You are a talented Artist, making a photo is just like making a painting. Once you recognize the color you will use it for ever. It is a very pleasant conversation with you🙂

      Like

      • I have a Canon Powershot SX240 HS. I really am a point and click type of person. Thank you so much for your encouragement. BTW, I decided to try out the iPhone 5. What I find is that going mobile allows me to share photos easily with friends and family. I can see why more people are turning to mobile phones. It is always a pleasure talking with you too!!!

        Like

      • iPhone 5 has tremendous features; 1/3.2” sensor size, larger pixel size, simultaneous HD video and image recording, touch focus, geo-tagging, face detection (what else I missed)… I received a door prize an iPhone 4s three years ago in a company’s family gathering, but I have almost never touched it since my youngest daughter cried for it. It was a long story, actually. I believe your red and purple colors will turn out better with it.😀

        Like

  2. Yet another striking plant that I’ve never seen. Do I see red sepals behind the flower? It looks like it is designed to be pollinated by a particular pollinator – like little bird or something that would stick it’s beak into the flower. And the leaves – in the second photo, they look like they can be worthy subjects all by themselves. But they look very different in the other photos when you see them behind the flowers. Thank you for doing this – it’s always a pleasure – education and aesthetics!

    Like

    • Yes you do. The flowers are pollinated by bees and butterflies or maybe hummingbird too. The second photo is the young leaves. I am sorry that I have forgotten to write a caption for them. I really thanks a lot for nice words and thought. Best wishes for you, Blue.

      Like

Leave a Reply

