9 comments on “CASSAVA plant and tubers

  1. Delicious. I love cassava chips and boiled cassava. I am sure I would like the sweet cassava dishes too. By the way, is that papaya fruit in the background, covered in plastic?

    Like

  2. it looks like tapioca. my parents ate tapioca tubers during the japanese occupation of malaya, it was easy to grow and provided them with food in a time of want.when my parents bought a house, they planted it in our garden and harvest the roots, and we eat it. I think it reminded them of those days. it is steamed and eaten dipped in suger. quite nice actually but you cannot eat a lot of it. they never make anything else out of it. i wonder if cassava is the same as tapioca. different countries name the same plant by different names. for eg egg plant vs brinjal.

    Like

    • Well, Your story is quite alike my mothers and fathers. Living in the 2nd WW era was that hard in Southeast Asia. I know many names of food made from Cassava and the plant has many names throughout the world. Any way, Cassava is Tapioca or Tapioca is Cassava alias Tapioca.

      Like

  3. Cassava is one of the staple diets in my country, Ghana. It is cooked and eaten with various sauces, or it is cooked, pounded together with plantains into a mound known as fufu. This goes with peanut butter soup, light soup or palm nut soup. Fufu is a meal that Ghanaians love so much, including myself.🙂

    Like

    • Interesting, readinpleasure. The tubers can be cooked in many ways. In my country, the Cassava is very easy to grow and every one who own a garden must have Cassava. The food and pastries made from Cassava are available everywhere in Indonesia. Thank you for sharing Cassava fact in your country with us.🙂

      Like

    • The popularity of Cassava seemed to be started again after the 2nd World War and now became world widely known and traded among many countries. I have never known that it grows well in a part of your country too. It’s sound great. Thank you for sharing the link to the kassav band group. I love some of their songs too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

