18 comments on “COFFEE for the World

  1. malaysia and singapore supposedly have their own coffee, and very proud of it too; but malaysia and singapore are not producers of coffee, so i wonder if it comes from indonesia.

    Like

    • Coffee plants grow better in Costa Rica and they export to Europe and Saudi Arabia for many years. People grow them in highland area too. Thank you for sharing your experience of visiting the plantation there. Interesting, isn’t it?

      Like

  2. Fascinating introduction to the history of coffee in Indonesia. I would love to have some coffee flowers in the garden. I think they would have an aroma which is even better than coffee!

    Like

    • Thank you for reading, Gallivanta. I love the coffee trees and the scent of the flowers. When I was in elementary school, I was very fond of sitting under those trees that grows by the farmers surrounding the school. The shady place, the cool breeze and the fragrance from the flowers were enough to refresh our minds after the school. Unfortunately coffee trees attract many insects, especially ants, so be aware of them when you grow it in the house garden.

      Like

  3. I thought I wrote a long comment and I don’t see it – I must not have clicked on “post.” This was so much work, and it’s very, very well done. A lot of the history and coffee culture is familiar to me because I worked at Starbucks many years ago, when they trained people very well in everything coffee. And I took the time when I was in Costa Rica to tour a coffee plantation, which was a great experience – I am a coffee lover, for sure – every afternoon, the espresso! But the part I did not know about is the forced cultivation – that was so sad – so many people mistreated for so long – it’s crazy – all for a profit that benefits only a few. I’m glad those days are over. I’m sure there are still inequalities in the coffee growing business, but not to that degree. I had two questions for you- what’s your favorite coffee drink? And, were you ever involved the coffee growing business? Or was it a different plant-related business?

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your very very good comment on this post.

      My Favorite coffee is espresso also.🙂 . let me tell you this. Indonesia is the fourth most populous country in the world, about 250 million people inhabit the vast archipelago. I am no sure how many percent of the people drink coffee everyday, but for sure they do drink coffee. So I can see it is interesting as one of a good business in the country. Many farmers were back to grow coffee in 1960s since most of the coffee plantation had been seriously damaged during the 2nd WW and the revolution of Indonesia Independence. The Coffee Business is booming now from home industries to modern coffee factories, besides to fulfill export demands of Indonesian Coffee.

      At present, from 1.2 million hectares of the plantation, 96% belongs to private farmers 4% of private and government-owned plantations.
      I noticed there are so many kinds of coffee products and labels flooding the markets throughout the country, so are Coffee houses and shops are everywhere includes STARBUCKS, This is the reason for what I wrote about it. I have never involved in this business nor the business related to the plant.

      I have had worked with various companies started in 1970s. among them, 12 years in Tourism business, 4 years on inspection for underwater construction and the the last 20 years at Coal Mine and retired 3 years ago.

      Coffee is always at everyone’s home and enjoyed everyday, even during working hours and while traveling.

      Like

      • Coffee is a huge and growing business, isn’t it? I’m glad it seems to be a good one for Indonesians. I am surprised that you never worked in a plant-related business – but it is your love, your passion. I will think of you next time I sip my espresso!🙂 Something very common here in the U.S. northwest, is not only the coffee shop, but also the coffee drive-up stand. It’s amazing – they are everywhere – tiny stands with full plumbing and refrigeration that serve very good espresso drinks to people who drive up in their cars. I don’t have time to do it, but someone should do a photo essay of them – they are in so many architectural different styles and shapes. I suppose it contributes to pollution but it’s very convenient when you’re on the road.

        Like

      • Yes it is, Ow, Thank you so much for thinking of me while enjoying your espresso. May I join you? 😀

        From the total exports of Indonesian coffee, as much as 85 percent is absorbed by the U.S. market (U.S.) as one of the countries with the high level of consumption.Last year, At “The Indonesian Coffee Festival” in Jakarta, the Directorate General of Foreign Trade Ministry of Commerce announced that the Indonesia’s coffee exports is around 85-90 percent is absorbed by the U.S. market.

        The U.S. market is potential, even though the U.S. is not including the largest coffee consumer in the world, when compared with the composition of the coffee drinkers of the world, it is the largest, he said.
        If the total U.S. population is 320 million and 200 million of them drink two cups of coffee per day the amount of coffee consumption in the U.S. is very large.

        I deliberately do not display photos of the coffee shop and drive-up coffee stand that are scattered around my place too because places like that are worldwide everywhere. I just illustrated that the coffee has become a drink that even reaches the low economic communities as well. I highly appreciate your thoughtful conversation on this post, my dear friend.

        Like

    • Thank you!

      The Shift of lifestyles of urban communities has led to a shift in the pattern of coffee consumption, especially in young people. The younger generation generally prefer to drink instant coffee, coffee three in one (probably only available in Indonesia) or espresso-based drinks that are served in café. While traditional coffee (ground coffee) remains a major public consumption / rural population and elderly groups who are so fanatic of the brand. But the invitation has never been changed, “would you like a cup of Coffee?”🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

